General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » I'm a newbie who's getting started. Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-09-06 6:08 PM

Subject: I'm a newbie who's getting started.
Greetings from Lakewood, OH! I'm interested in doing a triathalon, but I don't know where I should get started. I stumbled across this website (great website, btw) and now I'm here.

Brief background: I'm 29 years old and I'm a runner. I average about 25-35 miles a week and I've ran two marathons. I started graduate school this fall and I have some more free time to train. I used to swim regularly, but then I my running habits took over. There's a great rec center where I can train at the University I'm attending.

I'd love to get some feedback. Anybody want to point me in the right direction? Here are the initial questions I have...(1) Based on my fitness, what type of triathalon should I start out training for? (2) Is it bad to train on a stationary bicycle?

Thanks for your help,

-Bronson

2004-09-06 6:28 PM
in reply to: #58266

User image

Pro
Broomfield, Colorado
Subject: RE: I'm a newbie who's getting started.

There are training plans on the home page that you can look at.  since you have lots of time until next year, why not consider a sprint AND olympic, or even a 1/2 if you are up to it. 

Use the stationary bike to get started, and when you can you will want to get some kind of road bike.  Look for used ones or check bike shops.  Soon, they'll start having closeout sales. 

Good luck and welcome!

2004-09-06 6:52 PM

Thanks. I'm thinking I'll do the 16 Week Sprint - 3X Balanced Program.
2004-09-06 7:31 PM

User image

Central Louisiana
Great to have you here at the T-Spot!  Good luck with your training.
2004-09-06 8:06 PM

Thanks for the kind words, Michael. Your website is great, too!
2004-09-07 9:19 AM

User image

Elite

Hi Bronson,