General Discussion Triathlon Talk » bike quality vs. motor quality Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-05-21 8:26 PM

Regular
Tampa
Subject: bike quality vs. motor quality
As a tri newb, I have absolitely learned a lot form this forum. Thanks. One of the things that has encouraged me is the consistent train of thought that the motor is more important than the bike. As stoked about my new found hobby...er...lifestyle as I am. I decided to hold off buying my first road/tri bike until the end of the season. My first tri was this years St Anthonys and I have 5 or 6 I plan on doing this season. So, I have been doing my cycling on my MTB and borrowed trek 1200 with aerobars. While I have years on the MTB, I first got on the road bike, any road bike mind you, a month or so before SA so my experience is very limited...

All that being said, I have been happy with my progress on the trek (although it is 2 frames sizes small). I was able to build up my speed and endurance and averaged 18.4mph for the SA 40k. Seeing others who average 20, 21 even 24 have only motivated me.

Now to the question. How much REALLY is the motor and how much is the bike? What prompted this question is this... My good friend, who got me into tris rides a Cervelo Dual (also 2 sizes small) and offered it for my sprint this weekend. Today was my first time on any road bike, let alone a tri specific, other than the trek and I havent done anything in the few weeks since SA to drastically improve my skills/speed/endurance. Yet, over my 21 mile ride I averaged 21.9mph...and felt better afterwards for my 2 mile run.

I can only attribute this to the quality of the bike and the tri geometry. So, can the bike really make that much of a difference? Do the bike AND the motor play a more equal role than i previously thought? Or, was it a fluke? Discuss...

regardless, I still have a long way to go....

2007-05-21 8:36 PM
in reply to: #810890

User image

Veteran