General Discussion Triathlon Talk » two questions from a "hopefully" new sprint-tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-05-23 8:44 AM

Subject: two questions from a "hopefully" new sprint-tri
I'm new to this whole thing and planning to do my first sprint tri this August in Philly. A few Delaware related questions.

1) Where is the best place to buy gear? I plan on hitting up Del. Running Co' to splurge on my first good pair of running shoes, I've always kept to the cheap is better/buy them at the discount store. Other then that I assume I'll need some water shoes?? and a pair of transition shorts. Do they sell these things at Modell's, etc, or do I have to go to a special "tri" store. I would prefer not doing the internet thing, I like to try things on first. I think I'm doing the swim in my speedo (no wetsuit in august). Any info would be great.

2) I read about the open water swims in Winonah, NJ. I'm a really really slow swimmer (even after being on the HS swim team). Are these open water swims geared towards full tri-swimmers, or sprint-tri's. Is there a coach telling you what to do, or is it a free-for-all, are there any sort of lanes setup? Do they separate the first time open water swimmers from the oldies? If there is a coach, what is the normal distance done?

Thanks a bunch!
Alison

2007-05-23 5:59 PM
in reply to: #813128

User image

Extreme Veteran
West Chester, PA
Subject: RE: two questions from a "hopefully" new sprint-tri
how far from the philly area are you?
2007-05-24 7:15 AM

I'm in Wilmington.
2007-05-29 3:30 PM

User image

Wilmington, Delaware