General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello from NC Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-05-26 9:19 PM

New user

Subject: Hello from NC
Hello,

A couple of friends talked me into taking the tri-plunge -- so here I am! My first triathlon is July 8.

I've been relatively fit most of my life (31 years), and in order to maintain that I started riding a bike. Now it appears as though I'm branching out.

My goal is to have fun and finish whatever race I start -- no matter how long it takes (with the exception of time limits, of course). I like the social aspect of cycling and hope to find the same thing by competing in triathlons with my friends.

Here's my first newb question:

Must I swim freestyle? My favorite stroke is breaststroke. If I swim breaststroke, will I be at a significant disadvantage?

D-Rock

2007-05-26 9:43 PM
in reply to: #818419

User image

Master
Athens, Ga.
Subject: RE: Hello from NC

Welcome to BT! This is a great place to learn all about tris - and lots of other stuff!

As for your question, no, you don't have to swim freestyle. For my first tri, I swam almost the whole way breast stroke and still wasn't BOP. If you stick with triathlons, freestyle will help you a lot. But for your first, it's all about finishing. You'll see people swimming freestyle, breast stroke, back stroke, side stroke, doggie paddle, etc. As long as you don't have to be pulled from the water and can finish the race, you'll be fine!

Have fun tri-ing.  

2007-05-29 2:45 AM

User image

Regular
yes. technique is greater than strength. seek help. I'm coming from a swimming background. I would say breast stroke is like skipping. You wouldn't really want to skip a 5k. It is fun but not efficient and you just can't go as fast as running. It's really worth the effort to learn how to do it right.
2007-05-29 10:08 PM

User image

Veteran