General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Someone already used my title.... Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-09-18 12:38 PM

User image

Windsor, ON
Subject: Someone already used my title....
I'm 26 and need a hobby that is a little healthier than vodka tonics and nightclubs. So I've decided to become a triathlete and put all my spare income into probably the most expensive individual sport. I'm sure the bank will understand why I'll have to default on my student loan.

I was always very athletic - I studied ballet, tap and jazz pretty intensively until about 5 years ago. I was on a competition team that competed throught Canada and the U.S., and I went to a performing arts highschool. As for sports, I played soccer, volley, basketball until grade 10, and was on the track and swim teams throughout highschool. I was also a lifeguard/swim instructor for 7 years, meaning the swim portion of triathlons should be the one part where I don't pass out halfway through....right? Right.

I'm in my last year of finishing a degree in Fashion Design at Wayne State University in Detroit (although I live across the border in Windsor, ON). I'm on that 8 year bachelor degree program....just because I love school that much. Kidding. I started out as a Human Kinetics major at the University of Windsor, but hated the school so I transferred. And designing clothes seemed to be the next logical progression after studying movement science....

Ironically, I think the combo will prove to be beneficial, as after graduation I would really like to work for companies like Adidas or Nike and design athletic wear for elite athletes. Maybe I'll do a triathlon line someday, hmmm?

I'm also pretty involved in the local techno/electronic music scene in Detroit, which I suppose makes for a rather odd combination of hobbies. I have found another local dj who ran a marathon last year, so maybe we can recruit someone else to be part of a Techno Triathlon Team, lol.