General Discussion Triathlon Talk » I Need a bike in NC Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-07-01 9:27 AM

Fayetteville, NC
Subject: I Need a bike in NC
I am looking for a used bike that is in good shape. I am just getting started into doing Tri's and found out the hard way that MTN bikes are not very good for doing them. I am in the Fayetteville area and will travel to pick up. I am looking for a road bike or a Tri bike. I went to Hawley's and was fitted and I can use from a 56cm to a 58cm. I also dont want to spend a fortune since I am just starting out and I am sure once I get into and know more what to look for I will get a new one. I am wanting to do the Triangle Tri this coming weekend and need something soon. HELP????

2007-07-01 12:37 PM
in reply to: #867649

User image

Master
Knightdale/Raleigh
Subject: RE: I Need a bike in NC

Scroll down and check Chris Hughes' post, I believe he came down on the price some the last I checked on Craigs List. I was really tempeted myself, but I just can't spend that much now. My hybrid will only make me stronger (and more comfortable).

Edit: Okay, you saw that already.

Edited by DMarkSwan 2007-07-01 12:39 PM
2007-07-01 3:52 PM

Fayetteville, NC
Yep, but thanks for answering. I havent given up hope yet. I am sure there is someone out there someplace who is wanting to get rid of a bike.
2007-07-02 10:32 AM

User image

Veteran
Fayetteville, NC
Did Hawley's not have anything?  I bought my entry level road bike from them for about $500.  I am sure I will want to upgrade at some point, but have been very happy with the bike for the last year and a half.
2007-07-02 7:46 PM

Fayetteville, NC
I think that is where I will end up going to get one. They were extremely helpful when I went in asking questions and I probably would have test road something but the weather wasnt cooperating with me at that time.