General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Changing my life Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-09-28 11:01 PM

New user

Salt Lake City, Utah
Subject: Changing my life
I talked to a friend the other day about a triathalon. I'll be honest I wanted to do. Right now I am not in good shape, and am looking at starting up training asap at my local gym. Any advice and encouragement would be apprciated.

2004-09-29 12:17 AM
in reply to: #67614

User image

Gilbert, Az
Subject: RE: Changing my life
Good luck. I am not an expert and am new to triathlons but I do know from personnel experience that if you develope good habits and push your limits the results will follow.
2004-09-29 6:09 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Melbourne
All the very best for this new phase in your life - just focus and take it one day at a time!
Good Luck!
M
2004-09-29 6:53 AM

User image

Veteran
manitoba, canada
i as well am starting without being in very good shape, not one of those people with a base, i never ran in high school, or was never on a swim team.  And all I can say is:  as all the things you never imagine yourself doing slowly start to happen (and they will!!!) you'll be like a snowball picking up speed. (does that make sense?!?!?!) and you'll love it!! Good luck!!
2004-09-29 8:25 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Thunder Bay, Ontario

I too started out 'not in good shape' - - and still am not.  But the rewards offered by exercising, weight training  are awesome.  This site has so much info to offer on how to go about it, PLUS the people on the forums are great motivators.  Welcome to the site, come back often

2004-09-29 10:10 AM

User image

Regular
Marble Falls, TX
Welcome, this is a nice place to start...

I am not an expert but a newbie myself, check out
http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/cms/article-detail.asp?articleid=...
This might help get you started, along with the articles in the beginners area