General Discussion Triathlon Talk » A newbie question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-10-09 6:27 PM

New user

Staffordshire, England
Subject: A newbie question
Sorry in advance if this is a dumb one, but here goes...the question is about pace, when you're running on a treadmill you dial up the pace that you want, and off you go. But when running 'for real' how do you know your pace ??? When I was cross country running at school, I would run as fast as I could, sometime that meant that I finished with a good time, other times it meant I dropped out of the race and threw up (at 16 I did not fully understand the need to eat 'the right stuff' before a race :-) ) Being older and wiser I now understand that pacing yourself is very important, but how do you actually do it ? Do you count the number of strides you take ? Yes I am a newbie, and no I have not taken part in a tri yet, but my goal is for a sprint next summer.

Any guidance would be much appreciated as it might mean that I dont throw up at my first Tri run ... LOL

Mark

2004-10-09 6:36 PM
in reply to: #70800

User image

Pro
Broomfield, Colorado
Subject: RE: A newbie question

There are no dumb questions here!  I have to say I never really thought about pacing - I just run the best that I can.  I suppose you could monitor your heart rate.  Or use the RPE scale (rate of perceived exertion).  I used to throw up after races too, but not anymore! 

I guess use your best judgment and consider how long you need to run when deciding how fast you should go.  In a typical week, I do 3 run workouts.  One long, slow run where I'll be able to run as far as I want without feeling dead, one interval workout with sprints (this builds speed), and one short-ish run at a higher level than the long run. 

I guess we'll wait and see what others have to say

2004-10-09 6:46 PM
in reply to: #70807

New user

Staffordshire, England