General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » newbie in the UK Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-08-19 4:01 PM

New user

Horsham, UK
Subject: newbie in the UK
hi all, my names Mark & I'm a trainee triathlete ... almost sounds like the intro to an AA meeting.. lol

just thought I'd drop you all a line to say that I've got my first event coming up at the end of September.

400m swim, 25km ride & 3km run...

I could have done one with a shorter bike distance for my 1st attempt, but this is local to me & I figured... hey, why not...

For the last 4 to 5 weeks, the training has been good & solid, however the last few days have been like hell. I just don't have any motivation to train at all. how do you guys get through the low patches?

2007-08-20 3:41 AM
in reply to: #931056

User image

Melon Presser
Subject: RE: newbie in the UK

Hi, Mark--welcome to BT, to the wild world of triathlon, and super good luck on your first! Congrats on the training you've put in.

Low patches are normal and to be expected. There have been some very good threads on this ("Search Forums" for words like motivation, discouraged, etc.)

I tell myself just to begin the planned workout (sometimes, for running for example, just to put my shoes on and go out the door) ... pretty much if I start it, I'll do it. Other times it's bad enough I have to tell myself OK, just five minutes (or 1 mile or whatever). Small increments.

It also helps me to read motivational stories about challenged triathletes or triathletes who overcame great challenges.

2007-08-20 6:12 AM

User image

Expert
London, UK

Hi Mark.