General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike Q's and pedal Q's Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-10-25 11:33 AM

Veteran
Currently: San Diego CA
Subject: Bike Q's and pedal Q's

I'm going to get a bike.  I will train on it, and race it.  But I can't decide what I should get.  I figure that since I am just starting out I should get a road bike.  But everytime I search on the web I always end up looking at Tri bikes!  Cannondale R1000 looks good.  Trek 2300 looks nice.  But damn those Tri-bikes look good too!  Thoughts?

Ok, on to pedals.  I've only riden Mountain bikes, so my clipless pedal experience is limited to what works good for off-road.  Whats a good on-road set up?  Especially to compete in?

2004-10-25 2:21 PM
in reply to: #75870

User image

Champion
Michigan
Subject: RE: Bike Q's and pedal Q's

"I may not be the biggest idiot in the world... but I sure hope he doesn't die."

first off, I love your quote,  i hope you and the other guy don't die cause I must be next in line.  Secondly, I just purchased some speedplay zeros.  they have 15 degrees of float, which for me, a beginner, is cool.  I'm not sure I would like to be completely locked into one spot, which, by the way, you can also do with these.  They were also recommended to me by a guy who rides 'semi' pro.  As for the bike, I just ordered a tri bike, i test rode numerous bikes and liked the tri's better.  Good luck.

Trix 

2004-10-25 2:52 PM

User image

Regular
Pleasanton, CA
Difficult decision about the bike CrashMan. If you think you will stay with triathlon then I'd get a tri bike. You can always sell it later if you decide to stop participating in tri's. Road bike might be more comfortable for some people but I enjoy the tri bike more.