General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Realistic goal for sprint triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-09-25 8:40 AM

User image

Near Gent
Subject: Realistic goal for sprint triathlon
Hi there,

So there I am, all fired up to start training for a sprint, reading up on training programs and how to write your own. However, all of them state as the first thing to do: set yourself a realistic goal.

What could be a realistic goal I wonder ? I've been a coach potato until last summer. Spent a year loosing weight and starting to run and pick up on slow swimming again. Now I can run 5k continuously and am taking swimming classes.

If I take a look at a recreational sprint that took place some time ago in my neighbourhood, I saw a minimum of 1:05 and a rough average of 1:30 as finishing times. Would 1:40 be a realistic goal if I train for a full year enhancing my endurance predominantly ?

Cheers,
Leo

2007-09-25 8:43 AM
in reply to: #977885

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member
Subject: RE: Realistic goal for sprint triathlon

Realistic goals:

1. Finish Strong
  2. Have fun
2007-09-25 8:44 AM

User image

Sneaky Slow
Herndon, VA,

Realistic goal for your first race, off the couch is to finish.

Realistic goal for your second race, is to improve upon your first race.

There is no one realistic goal time that applies to everyone... you might be able to train for a year and not break 18 MPH on the bike, or you might be able to be in the 20s. Sorry, but it all depends.

Just pick a training plan, stick to it, after a couple of months, get some idea of your swim/bike/run paces, and maybe then you can pick some ballpark times towards which to strive for your first race.

ETA: But I don't recommend trying to hit a time in your first race.  I really don't. 

Edited by newleaf 2007-09-25 8:45 AM
2007-09-25 8:44 AM

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2007-09-25 9:20 AM

Master
West Jordan, UT