General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Training towards Columbia Triathalon, May 2008 Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-10-05 9:46 PM

User image

New user

Subject: Training towards Columbia Triathalon, May 2008
Hello all! I am new at triathlons and frankly, my boyfriend (dlaxman31) got me interested.

I graduated from West Virginia University in December 2006 and I have been incredibly active my entire life. I concentrated on volleyball and softball all throughout college and I have played both sports for 10+ years. However, after college, I feel that I am not in the shape that I once was.

I still play volleyball competitively every week, but I want to train myself in a new discipline of sports. I want to ultimately compete, and COMPLETE, the Columbia Triathlon in May 2008.

Once I pick a training plan and stick with it, I believe that I can train myself and better my physical abilities.

Any words of advice for a newbie would be well appreciated. I plan on training first on my run and slowly progress onto biking and swimming as well. Please send me any words of advise and the 'Do's and don't s' of Triathlons.

I look forward to seeking out advise and finding anyone who wants to possibly train with me.

Thanks all!

2007-10-05 10:01 PM
in reply to: #994453

User image

Expert
Pittsburgh
Subject: RE: Training towards Columbia Triathalon, May 2008

Welcome to the Club! Cool

The best advice I can offer is to stay consistent.  Pick a plan to get going.  You may find you need to make adjustments or even change plans, but that's okay as long as you continue moving forward.

With swimming, take time to learn a good technique.  You'll see lots of references here to Total Immersion as one method.  Also read up on the articles here by Kevin Koskella for technique.  The key is to swim efficiently so you conserve energy that you'll need for the bike and run.

Above all - Have Fun! Smile