General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Need help w/ first road bike. Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-01-31 8:00 AM

Subject: Need help w/ first road bike.
Hi everyone. This looks like a great site. I’m training for my first Sprint Triathlon in September or maybe July, and am looking to purchase my first road bike. However, I do not want a triathlon specific bike. I am getting a lot of different opinions. I thought I had my heart set on a ‘03 Softride Qualifier ($1500) because of the comfort, price and the fact that I’ve had problems in the past with a herniated disc. But I’ve been told the Softride is not good for climbing. . Other bikes of interest are the Cervelo Soloist 105 or maybe the Prodigy. I welcome you opinions. Also, if the bike is fitted properly, what are the chances of having back problems?

2004-01-31 9:53 AM
in reply to: #5626

User image

Veteran
Illinois
Subject: RE: Need help w/ first road bike.
I'm no bike expert, but I'll share with you what I learned from buying my road bike last year. Like you, I didn't want a tri-specific bike, should I one day not be into triathlons anymore [fat chance, but still]. I wanted lightweight, quality, sturdiness and absorption [because i would be transitioning myself from a MTB]. I recommend that you shop around, the days you go in to test ride go dressed to ride. Most biek shops do not have a limit on test rides. The longer you test ride a bike- the better feel you'll get for it. [heck if you're investing that much money on this- they better be willing to help you out!]

Okay going back into absorption- from talking to a lot of sales people [and going to a bike show], i learned that a steel frame [although a little bit heavier] is a lot better for taking the bumps. Now you said that you have back problems, so this might be something you consider.