General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » New to Tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-11-05 5:44 PM

New user

Subject: New to Tri
Hi everyone!
I'm new to this whole triathlon thing, haven't competed in one yet but I hope to complete my first Olympic distance next year. I was a distance swimmer for LSU (Geaux Tigers!!) and I just really miss being a competitive athlete. I haven't been in the water much since I graduated about 6 years ago, but I think the swimming will be fine for me. I have been running since I finished college, so that shouldn't be too bad for me. The biking on the other hand is something very new for me. I bought a bike about a month ago ('05 Specialized Allez Elite) and I really enjoy it, I just hope I have enough time to get in cycling shape. I just put my clipess pedals on last week and now I have many bruises!! I think all of my coordination is in the water, I certainly have none on the bike. Any advice for getting used to them without having to wear full protective gear? I don't know if the pedals are too tight or I'm just a spazz (more than likely that is what it is), but sometimes I can clip out no problem and other times I can't and I just fall right over! Plop!! It was pretty embarrassing the other day at the park, but I admit it must look hilarious. Please tell me that I am not alone with this and other people had falling issues when getting used to their clipless?

I will be moving to the Atlanta, GA area in just a few weeks, so I hope to meet some other tri people there. I may try to join a masters team as well.
I am sure I will have a ton of cycling questions in the next few months, but hopefully I can offer others some swimming advice in return.
Looking forward to meeting everyone here!! Thanks.

Meghan

2004-11-05 6:07 PM
in reply to: #79602

User image

Subject: RE: New to Tri
Welcome to BT!