General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Triathletes make better runners!!! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-11-08 10:06 PM

User image

Expert
Durham, CA
Subject: Triathletes make better runners!!!
I have been competing with my brother (running events) for the last several years - he has always been much faster than me, as he has been training for about 7 years, versus my 2.5 He beat me soundly this January, in the Redding 1/2 marathon, by almost 10 minutes.

However, this summer I started serious cross training, and doing lots of bricks (and triathons). Lo and behold, we ran the Almond Bowl Race yesterday, and I kicked his Kister!!!!!

I had a smoking hot 48:45 10K time, against his which was over 51 minutes. I know he has trained much harder than I have (he is running 40+ mpw versus my 15 or 20), but I have to believe that the cross training and the sheer agony of having survived a grueling 3 hour triathlon does "something" to your body to cause you to be able to run faster.

Has anyone else noticed their running time dramatically improving after a season of triathlons?

PS. If winning the dual wasn't enough, we even got our picture on the sports page of the local newspaper. I'm #15 in front, he is way behind in the yellow trunks!!!!

Thanks B/T's for all the support and advice

Dennis

(20041108_SPT_SPORTS1[1].jpg)

Attachments
----------------
20041108_SPT_SPORTS1[1].jpg (21KB - 8 downloads)

2004-11-08 10:12 PM
in reply to: #80596

User image

Expert
Westchester County NY
Subject: RE: Triathletes make better runners!!!
My running has suffered.  But I should qualify that.  I did get better in my early years as a traithlete, but now I'm older and my running sux. It also may be because I typically spend 200 miles a week on the bike, and about 15 miles running.  the 15 is a high mileage week too. :-)
2004-11-08 10:31 PM