General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello From New York City Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-11-16 12:57 AM

Subject: Hello From New York City
Hello Everyone,
I am a 23 year old living in Manhattan and working for a .com. I come from a family of runners (my dad and brother have run close to 50 marathons between them) and once I graduated from college I became more and more interested in running. I started running 30 miles a week and ran the NYC Half Marathon in August. While I love running and the quiet moments of meditation that it can bring, I long for something a little different. That being said, I have talked my family into doing a Tri with me this year. We were going to sign up for NYC but missed the cut and it is full, so I am asking the experts here; what is a good Tri for us all to do. I dont care about where in the country we have to travel, I am looking for an interesting Olympic distance Tri.

Any input or suggestions would be amazing. Again it does not matter where it is, as my family is spread around the country.

As a side note, if you travel for a tri, can you rent a bike when you get there?

Thanks in advance.

2007-11-16 9:39 AM
in reply to: #1056503

User image

Extreme Veteran
Westchester, NY
Subject: RE: Hello From New York City
Hey Now.. as a fellow NYer and also shut out of the NYC Tri .. closed at 6:30am - total BS if ya ask me.. anyway .. I was looking at Tupper Lake tri- June08- Fathers Day Tri in Port Washington 06/08 - i dont thinks its Oly tho.. Bassman in New Jersey .. and of course Jardin Westchester Tri .. I think that'll be in Sept. 08 .. go to www.trifind.com to see these and other area races..
if ya want to do some running/biking or swimming.. drop a line.. i'm on UES .. not too far from anything ..

Lou
[email protected]
2007-11-16 9:42 AM

User image

Elite

Hi James.  Welcome to BT!