General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Greetings from horse country... Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-11-12 1:53 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Horse Country
Subject: Greetings from horse country...
(hmmm... somehow this feels a bit like the beginning of a 12-step program meeting...)

Hello, my name is BGTwinDad, and I'm a triathlon-o-holic...

Well, not really, since I've never done one before. But what am I, really?

Umm...

What am I?

Child of God
Father of two 4-year-olds (boy/girl twins... duh...)
Husband to a wonderful wife
Son and son-in-law to some great members of the previous generation
Engineer

Why am I here?

Well, I've never really done much athletically... ran track in 7th grade, but quit the team. Never ran after that. Spent a lot of time carrying a trombone around the football field, but never a ball. Played little league, but mostly looked for flowers in the outfield. Learned enough swimming as a kid to keep from drowning. You know the type. I spent more time reading about stuff than actually doing stuff.

I did spend a lot of time - especially in college - backpacking, hiking, and even trying rock climbing (really bad at it - no muscle strength!), and riding my bike around campus. But I never really pushed myself physically.

Then I found myself hitting 30, mildly overweight, with a family history that would make a cardiologist with a jones for a new yacht drool, two small kids and a wife that would like to see me attend their graduation from kindergarten. I decided to do something about it, so I dusted off the old bike and started riding it.