Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply

of 1

2007-12-09 9:39 AM

User image

Elite
Preferably on my bike somewhere
Subject: Apple vs. MS
Hello,
At the risk of fanning the flames of this degenerative debate, I am in the market for a new laptop for schooling purposes (I'm going back to get a masters). I am used to MS like everyone, and am comfortable with the 'unknown' of MS. I am however, sick of MS and I find the issues people have with Vista to be alarming, both from the EULA standpoint and from the power issue (people seem to feel that a minimum of 2gb memory is required to run Vista well).

So, I am considering a Mac lappy. I have NO experience with Mac OS, and I am concerned about having a house a with both a Mac (lappy) and MS desktop (4 years old). Can I get music, documents, and other things back and forth? How about integrating into a network? I have a wireless router for my internet at home - how easy/hard will it be to get a Mac linked up? Are there any integration concerns? I am only going to be using this laptop for schooling purposes (documents, spreadsheets, presentations, etc) and possibly for use in organizing my charity fund-raiser ride. Will I be able to plug my Mac laptop into my PC printer or will I need a new printer? (it's a HP 6210 all-in-one)

As far as price goes, from what I have seen, the cheap MS laptops appear to be cheaper, but once you start adding your softwares, peripherals, and whatnot on, the price difference gets smaller (but there is still a difference). To get a laptop to do what I want it to do will cost around $1k, a little more for a Mac.

Thoughts?

Can we try to stay away from debating which is better, because we know that has been discussed ad nauseum for years? Thanks.

2007-12-09 9:52 AM
in reply to: #1090811

User image

DC
Subject: RE: Apple vs. MS