BT Development Mentor Program Archives » dhyte's Group - (Full to the brim) !!! Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 14

2007-12-16 12:51 AM

User image

Master
San Diego, CA
Subject: dhyte's Group - (Full to the brim) !!!

User Name: dhyte

Story:

I am 43 and got interested in triathlons in 2003. My first race was a sprint in early 2004. My brother (jchyte) and myself have been encouraging/pushing each other all the way...it's been great. I still consider myself a beginner (even though I have 4+ years invested). I'm a middle/back of the pack clydesdale, and probably always will be.

I'm involved with triathlon because:

- I love it
- It's a great way to stay in shape
- You can hang put with other triathletes (a fun/crazy group of people) !
- It's a good excuse have a short work day !

Family:
I'm married, and have a 17 year old daughter. I am a Software Development Manager for a large Aerospace company located in San Diego, CA. I'm trying to decide which character in the movie "Office Space " is most like me.....

Training:
I am currently training for my third Ironman (IM AZ - April 13, 2008).
I am also going to be doing the San Diego Rock'n'Roll Marathon and the New York Marathon this year.

I have raced Sprint, Olympic, Half and Full Ironman distances. I have run 5Ks through Marathon distance races (5 marathons under my belt so far). I have a desire to do some Ultra running at some point also.

I am mostly self-coached. My workouts are a combination of solo and group training. I swim with a Master's group and also participate in group workouts/activities with TCSD (Triathlon Club of San Diego).

I was a competative swimmer as a kid (through high school), but never was a runner/cyclist. I have played sports my entire life, but only became an "endurance athlete" in 2003.

I am currently following the Ironman training plan from Frey/Huddle's book "Start to Finish, Ironman Training ".

Weight: