Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-12-17 9:50 AM

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.

2007-12-17 10:11 AM
in reply to: #1105912

Runner
Subject: RE: Question on Running Cadence

A) Stride length will give a better increase than cadence.
B) The best answer is to run more.
C) The second best answer is this: Hill Training

Hill training will work stride length or cadence, depending on what you're doing.  This is one of the best ways to improve.  I presonally disagree with using a metronome for the simple fact that you don't know what to set it at, and it creates an artificial cadence that may not be efficient for you. 

2007-12-17 10:11 AM

Salt Lake City

I'm no expert - or even a good enough runner to deserve an opinion, but...

First - do you need a higher turnover? The statistic about 199% of elite runners have a turnover rate of blah, blah, blah is only useful if you find yourself in that group of elite runners. IMO

Second - try music. If you grab a podcast like, let's say Podrunner, with a faster tempo that may help. Works for me.

2007-12-17 10:15 AM

Master

SweetK - 2007-12-17 9:50 AM How do you increase it? I know it seems rather simple, just turn over your legs faster and you will have higher cadence, but when I do so, my stride feels choppy because I have to shorten my stride length in order to do it. I'm not a fast runner by any means and I want to go faster... what are some of your tips? Right now, my average cadence is 80 (on one side) as measured by my new Garmin Footpod. Any advice is greatly appreciated - Happy Holidays!

I'm no expert, but increased cadence comes with increased speed.  So just run faster.  LOL

Really, I would just add some strides (short periods of faster running) into your current runs.  About 20 seconds each.  The other thing you could do is cadence drills on your bike (like spin-ups).  Increase cadence on the bike should lead to increase cadence on the run.