General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim fins for training? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-02-06 9:19 AM

User image

Expert
Evansville, IN
Subject: Swim fins for training?
Even though I've been a swimmer off/on for sometime, I have been "self taught". There are a number of people who use fins for their kick drills. Anyone have any thoughts on fins? Do they provide any more benefit than just using a kickboard and my size 14's (no comments on my built in fins :-) ).

Edited by umbach 2004-02-06 9:23 AM

2004-02-06 11:20 AM
in reply to: #6187

User image

Veteran
San Diego, CA
Subject: RE: Swim fins for training?
I love the use of swim fins.
My #1 recommendation would be Hydrofinz.
#2 would be Zoomers.
These shorter-type fins force you to kick the right way. They provide excellent ankle flexibility as well. Hydrofins provide a better strength workout for your legs as well.
Fins are great for beginners. Use them while practicing drills (I recommend TI drills), so that you can properly execute the drills without worrying about your kick. If you have NO kick, or you go backwards kicking on your back, you should use them all the time for a while. Then, eventually you should decrease your use and only use them on certain kicking sets.
As far as boards go, I see no purpose in using them. They give you artificial floatation, and for freestyle, they force you to kick the wrong way (on your stomach, as opposed to on your sides as you should be).

Good luck!
Kevin
www.triswimcoach.com
2004-02-06 11:28 AM

Extreme Veteran
Fins can help your swim training in numerous ways. Fins can increase your leg strength and also ankle flexibility. They also help you swim higher in the water with less effort, helping to maintain a more efficient stroke. We also use fins to keep the heart rate up during the main set, while giving the arms a rest. Training with fins also helps if you have a weaker kick. I would recommend adding fins to your swim training.