Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 7

2008-01-06 10:00 PM

User image

Veteran
Albany, NY
Subject: Boston Marathon
To all the Patriot Day Runners out there --
Just thought I'd start the thread. How's everyone's training going?

I'm just beginning to create a modified training plan that'll allow me to hit Boston hard and complete my first HIM in August. I really can't wait for Boston -- its been a dream of mine to run it for a couple of years now. But I feel like I'm getting a bit distracted at the beginning of my first season training for tri's . . . it seems like making up for zero experience with the swim has become a bigger priority than setting a nice base for Boston training.

How's everyone else handling training for multiple events?

2008-01-07 8:20 AM
in reply to: #1138016

User image

Veteran
Fayetteville, NC
Subject: RE: Boston Marathon

My training is on hold at the moment.  I had Compartment Syndrome surgery on Dec. 6th for my left leg and on Dec. 28th for my right leg.  I am still on crutches right now.  I hope to be allowed to start running again in a couple of weeks.  It is doubtul that I will be able to regain my fitness quickly enough to train for Boston though  I am already registered and have my hotel and plane reservations.  My DH & I have decided to go no matter what.  So, if I can't run I will be there to cheer you all on.

2008-01-07 2:03 PM
in reply to: #1138357

User image

Veteran
Albany, NY

I am glad to hear that you had the surgery. Before reading about Compartment Syndrome minutes ago, I had no idea what it was. I wish you a speedy, efficient, and full recovery. the fact that you'll be able to be running again within weeks is wonderful -- from what little I've read, it seems as if damage has the potential to be great, even lethal.