General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Man i need help on my first bike purchase Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2008-05-12 5:33 PM

User image

Expert
Ocala, Florida
Subject: Man i need help on my first bike purchase

Last week i started training for my first triathlon (olympic distance) in September.    I started running and swimming..........but no biking yet.  I don't own a bike.   Haven't owned a bike since a kid and haven't rode one in numerous years.

My goal for the race is #1. To finish #2. To have fun #3 To be competitive.   I say this because this really factors into what type of bike i want to buy.

So today i go out and hit the only 2 bike shops i have in town.     First shop was no good........they were of no help.    Second shop was alot of help, but i'm really unsure as to what bike i want to buy.

The first bike i tested out was a Trek road bike.   YIKES!!!  I was really uncomfortable and uneasy on this bike.   Not that it didn't feel like it fit, but i really didn't like having to sit leaning over on the handle bars.   Just testing it around the parking lot and down a sidewalk was nerve racking.    I couldn't wait to get off.

Second bike i road was a Gary Fisher Wahoo.   Now this bike felt great.   I was comfortable riding it around  liked the feel of it.  Is this a good beginner bike or is there another that can be suggested?   Price at my shop was $450.

Now, i'm looking for suggestions and comments on what direction i might consider.   Is that Gary Fisher considered a hybrid?   The salesman showed me some tires i can buy to use for road riding compared to the off road that the bike comes with.   Is that common with alot of people?

I realize the off road will be slower than a road bike, but i just really felt uncomfortable on that Trek.   Is that normal for beginners?