General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Marine Corps Marathon : Official Thread Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 6

2009-06-13 6:48 PM

User image

Subject: Marine Corps Marathon : Official Thread

This will be my first time doing the MCM.  How about others?  Why are you doing it?  I am doing it as a way to honor my son.  He will be on his second deployment and in Afganistan when I'll be doing the MCM. 

2009-06-13 9:54 PM
in reply to: #2215594

User image

Champion
Charlottesville, Virginia
Subject: RE: Marine Corps Marathon : Official Thread
Will be my first marathon, should be fun.
2009-06-14 6:44 AM

A little early, but it will be my first marathon as well. Was supposed to run it last year but had to back out a few weeks prior due to injury. Let's hope that I can make it through this one healthy - currently have a minor nagging ankle thing that I hope does not turn into anything worse. Might have to rest it for a week or two - luckily, I started training a little early. Crossing fingers...

2009-06-14 6:55 AM

User image

this year will be my 5th time running the MCM.  its a terrific race with a horrible finish.  be ready to stand around for 15 minutes+ working through the crowd at the end if you finish after the 4:00 mark.  its a bummer, but the course is great and the crowds are huge.
2009-06-14 7:01 AM
in reply to: #2215961

User image

Expert
CHARLOTTESVILLE, Virginia
jinxproof1996 - 2009-06-14 6:55 AM this year will be my 5th time running the MCM.  its a terrific race with a horrible finish.  be ready to stand around for 15 minutes+ working through the crowd at the end if you finish after the 4:00 mark.  its a bummer, but the course is great and the crowds are huge.

Haha sounds like all the big races in this area, so should be used to it by now.
2009-06-14 7:07 AM
in reply to: #2215968

User image

sdalessio - 2009-06-14 8:01 AM