of 25

2009-12-12 4:16 PM

User image

Master
Rogersville, Alabama
Subject: BamaDC's Group - CLOSED

NAME: BamaDC / Mark
STORY:
In 2005 my wife (Amanda) wanted to run a Marathon.  And said, “you should do it to.”  So I started training in July of 05 and ran my first marathon in Feb. 06, the Ocala Marathon (4:15:30). 

My quick increase in running volume lead to some overuse injuries.  This caused me to start attending spinning classes.  The teachers were all cyclist and they took my under their wings and I started cycling.  And I swam competitively until the 9th grade, so what the heck… I’ll do a triathlon.  I did a few races in 06, nothing that special… well that’s another topic.  I didn’t do/race any tris in 07, because of our first baby and my last year of Professional School. 

So in 08 I went all out.  I finished Ironman Louisville in 14:19 and improved my half marathon time by 8 min.  1:50 in Feb 08 to a 1:42 in Nov 08.

2009 was year two.  I finished my second Ironman Louisville in 11:36, first Half Ironman in 5:26, dropped my half marathon time to 1:32 and had my first triathlon top ten overall.

FAMILY STATUS: Married to a felloow triathlete and going on 6 years.  One son (Thomas) turns three this Jan. and another son William turns one in March. 

CURRENT TRAINING: Currently focusing on the Bike and training with a powermeter.  Major goals of 10 will be sub 4:50 in a HIM, and Sub 1:30 in a Half Mary

THIS YEAR'S RACES: Mercedes Half Mary 1:34, Hunstville Half May 1:32, Gulf Coast Tri 5:26, IMKY 11:36, and two sprints(1st top 10 OA)

2009 RACES: Mercedes Half Mary, Magic City Du, IMFL 70.3, Music City Tri, Buster Britton Tri, Mountain Lakes Tri, RocketMan Tri, HalfMax Championships, lots of other running and tri events, and IM 70.3 Corld Championships**

WEIGHTLOSS:  I'm currently at 8.2% body fat and I will be under 7% before IMFL 70.3 and sub 6% before HalfMax.

WHAT WILL MAKE ME A GOOD