BT Development Mentor Program Archives » cayrip's and AbbieR's Mentor Group - Closed Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 18

2009-12-22 4:15 PM

User image

Expert
Subject: cayrip's and AbbieR's Mentor Group - Closed

LET'S GET TRAINING!

NAME: cayrip/Cameron

STORY: I am a father to my boys and a husband to my wife.  I am a 35 year old triathlete.  I became a triathlete because I got bored with running marathons and wanted to get the cool bike gear.  I also became good friends with the TNT head coach for the ATL group when I lived there and he taught me tons about tris and bike care.  He coached my wife to her first Olympic tri and inspired me to try IMs which I promptly feel in love with.  I love to test my limits.  I travel quite a bit for work and struggle with training while travelling and have come up with many inventive ways to stay active.

I am also a biologist.  I spend most of my runs and bikes looking at wildlife and enjoying the world around me.  That may be why I hate the pool--no bugs, snakes, or birds!

FAMILY STATUS: Married to a triathlete and we have 3 boys 

CURRENT TRAINING: I'm in week 5 of a 23 week IM training plan.  Volume is increasing but it isn't unmanagable yet.  I do need to get in the pool more as these seem to be the workouts I like to skip.

THIS YEAR'S RACES: I took 2009 off from racing as it was my wife's turn.  I stayed active with my boys so I could indulge in good food and drink.  Past triathlons include the 5430 series in Boulder, CO in 2008, IM Louisville in 2007, and a myriad of tris in GA before I moved to Colorado. 

2009 RACES:  IM St. George and then a fall marathon to try and Boston qualify.

WEIGHTLOSS: I want to drop 15lbs to be at my race weight for IM St. George.  I've been up to 207 in my history and know how easy it is to gain weight and how hard it is to lose it.