General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike question -- can I buy speed? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2010-01-05 5:21 PM

User image

Veteran
Thousand Oaks, CA
Subject: Bike question -- can I buy speed?

I have been cycling consistently for about 9 months.  My distances have been increasing over time, but my average speed has maxed out around 14-15 mph.  I have hilly terrain where I live, so that accounts for part of it. 

My current bike is a Cannondale Adventure 3 hybrid bike pretty much like the one listed on this link, except I have Deore, not Alivio.  I get a good workout on the bike, and my engine is steadily improving, but I want to go faster, faster.

I'm thinking of buying myself a road bike as an early birthday present.  But I am overwhelmed by the selection, and I only want to do it if it will bring a speed increase (average 3-4 mph given the same engine would be nice "out of the box"). 

I have two questions:
1.)  Assuming I have about $2k to spend can my dreams of faster speed come true?  I'm not looking for the lightest bike with the best components -- I want to spend the least to get the greatest bump in speed.  At what price point are difference noticeable only by advanced athletes?  Said otherwise, what's the minimum entry fee for a fast road bike?

2.)  I picked the $2k b/c I've been eyeing the Cervelo P1 (ok... it's a little more than $2k).  For the same price, I can get a Cannondale carbon Synapse 4 using a discount I get through my local tri club.  At a given price point, is there much difference in the quality of the bikes?  Or should I ignore brand and focus on what fits the best?

Thanks for your thoughts and advice!

2010-01-05 5:35 PM
in reply to: #2596244

User image

Master
Kirkland, WA
Subject: RE: Bike question -- can I buy speed?
i would guess going from a hybrid to a road bike would give you atleast 1 mph. .