General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Why do you Tri? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2010-01-07 10:12 PM

User image

New user

Subject: Why do you Tri?
So, I'm new to this whole thing called triathlon.  I've got my motivation(s).  A big part of it IS that I've always enjoyed being a Clyde.  This website is awesome... I know none of you, but it sure is nice to know there are others out there like me.  So, I have a question for you Clydesdales/Athenas.

What is/was your motivation to tackle the challenge of triathlon?

2010-01-07 10:16 PM
in reply to: #2602020

User image

Master
Southwest Iowa
Subject: RE: Why do you Tri?
I have always wanted to, but never had the time with work and family.  Now at 46, I will not be as busy with family, so I am going to make it happen.  I also want to run a marathon.
2010-01-07 10:39 PM

User image

Veteran
Sutherlin
Well, I did my first sprint last year, and the motivation for that was 1) at age 39, to learn to swim, 2) to try and overcome my HUGE fear of the water and having my face/head in the water.  So after completing the sprint (I still swim head up, but I am working on it, and it was an OWS in a lake) I am now motivated to do at least 3 sprints this year, and a century ride.

If that happens, (and it will!!!!) then maybe a few sprints and an Oly in 2011???  Well see....
2010-01-07 10:47 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Peer pressure.  A few of my best girlfriends from college have done sprint tris -- my very best friend started it two years ago, then three others did one together.  They asked me to join them, and I thought, no way.  Then I saw their after pictures.  Three of them likely always will be Athena, but they looked strong and happy.  And I thought, if THEY can do it, so can I!  It made it seem possible.  I did couch 2 5K for running, and it actually worked.  I took some swim classes.  I bought  a bike.