General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ballantyne Triathlon : Official Thread Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2010-05-04 9:51 PM

User image

Master
Bolivia, NC
Subject: Ballantyne Triathlon : Official Thread
This will be my second triathlon.  At age 67 I have decided that I need to get back in shape.  Charlotte is about three hours from home and my wife has some friends there, so it seems like a good fit.  The only problem that I see is that we are going on a Mediterranean cruise about a month before this tri and I know that I am going to eat and drink too much and get out of shape with only a month to try and get back.  However as a retiree I will have plenty of time to train in those 4 weeks.  Is anyone familiar with the bike course?  That's my biggest fear at the moment.  My swim is improving and I've always run 5 and 10ks, but I am a novice on the bike.  Add to that the fact that I'm using my son's 25 yr. old Nishiki and I need all the help I can get.

Edited by blynott 2010-05-04 9:51 PM

2010-05-05 9:31 AM
in reply to: #2837428

User image

Master
Charlotte
Subject: RE: Ballantyne Triathlon : Official Thread

Hello there blynott,

I am VERY familiar with the bike course (I ride those roads every weekend). 

The course can be described as moderately hill with excellent road conditions.

Bryant Farms Road - Slightly downhill.
Blakeny Heath Rd - Fast downhill section. 
Rea Rd. - Mostly rolling uphill but road conditions on Rea super smooth.
Crane Rd.  - Mostly rolling downhill. 
New Town Rd - Most rolling uphills.
Marvin Rd - Mostly rolling downhill.  One big climb after the long downhill.
Old Audrey Kell / Providence Rd West - mostly flat
Community House - Flat

You will find there will be very little on that course that is actually "flat".  No big climbs except for the one on Marvin Rd (and it is not that long or really big).

Good luck!

2010-05-05 11:58 AM
in reply to: #2838201

User image

Master
Bolivia, NC