General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Therapeutic Use Exemption Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2010-06-24 2:27 PM

User image

New York
Subject: Therapeutic Use Exemption
Looking for a little supportive guidance from the BT crew. I feel a little weird divulging too much personal information on the web, but here goes. 

I currently take Testosterone as per my doctor's orders. I really don't mean to make this a thread relating to doping, or even some sort of pity party. Suffice it to say, I have a medical condition that caused me to need Replacement Therapy, and I trust my doctor. I was diagnosed long before I started training for Triathlon, and in fact, my medical condition is what turned my life around in order to pursue this sport as a way of getting healthy. So, I am by no means taking drugs in order to get some sort of advantage, only to be as healthy as the next person.

So, this is my first year competing in Triathlons (doing the NYC Triathlon & the Half-Ironman Syracuse along with some Sprints), and I realized that I'm required to submit a Therapeutic Use Exemption form in order to get approval for taking Testosterone. I feel a little odd having to do this because I'm by no means going to win, and I'm not even in any sort of Elite AG category. Just to be safe, I submitted it, along with my doctor's approval and some lab work showing my levels, but I just got it returned to me because they require a "complete medical history". 

Anyway, I'm wondering if there are any BT'ers that have gone through this process. What else is included in the "complete medical history" other than the lab work showing your original diagnosis? Did your doctor write up a whole document? I would try to help my doctor out, but I wouldn't even know what to write seeing as I don't know all the medical terms.