General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » what brought you to tri? Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2004-04-15 3:14 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Boston, MA
Subject: what brought you to tri?
just curious to see what exactly brought everyone to begin doing triathlons? I think if someone had asked me 5 years ago, i wouldnt have even known what a triathlon was... and didnt know anyone actually did them.
Mid life crisis? Weight loss? Revitalize your old high school competitive spirits?

I cant expect any personal responses w/o getting a little personal myself... so initially my drive was that i thought being a master (or at least a survivor) of three disciplines was a pretty respectable accomplishment that i'd love to put under my belt. Plus it'd put to use my strong running background as well as my interest in swimming which only began to sprout for a year in high school before i graduated...

and also triathletes bodies are just damn good looking, i'd love to look like them/date them (obviously depending on the gender)... ;-)

2004-04-15 3:24 PM
in reply to: #18654

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2004-04-15 3:27 PM

Pro
Broomfield, Colorado
Subject: RE: what brought you to tri?
Just wanted to have a big goal! And a friend talked me into it.

Now I have talked 7 other people in my office to do it with me!
2004-04-15 3:33 PM

Master
Dayton, Minnesota
Bronze member
I suppose the initial reason was weight loss, but it's grown into something else. I was watching the Lifetime Tri on tv last August and thought, "Hey, I could probably do that!" I had been wanting to lose 10 pounds for quite a while, but could never keep my motivation up. Since I'm the type who does better if I have a concrete goal or am held accountable in some way, I thought training for a tri would be a great way to lose that weight with a specific program within a specific time period.