Ironman North America
70F / 21C
Overcast
Total Time = 11h 59m 3s
Overall Rank = 804/2600+
Age Group = M30-34
Age Group Rank = 118/256
Pre-race routine:

A little background...I started training for a reverse sprint triathlon in 2008 to help prepare for US Army Ranger school. Shortly after finishing that 'fun' course, I was deployed to Afghanistan (for all of 2009), where I did not have the opportunity to train (unless you count walking in awful terrain with heavy loads where people don't much like us...). On July 22nd the vehicle I was in was struck and destroyed by an IED. I was very fortunate and was able to walk (limp) away. Three days later I signed up (through my wonderfully amazing wife, Rebecca) for IMLP. In addition to training for another school, for me this day was a celebration of my life and limbs. I came home when the odds weren't always in favor of that. With that never far from my mind I dedicated my swim to SGT Terry Lynch, KIA, Wardak Province Afghanistan, June 2009; my bike to SPC Abraham Wheeler, KIA, Logar Province Afghanistan, AUG 2009, and my run to SSG Dennis "Gunny" Hansen, KIA, Logar Province Afghanistan, DEC 2009.