General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Coping with Depression Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2005-07-18 5:20 PM

User image

Veteran
Belize
Subject: Coping with Depression
Depression is a condition for which I have never had to go see a doctor about but it is a condition I fear might overcome me if I am not careful enough, hence the reason why I swim bike and run. Triathlon training has somehow filled a void in my life that makes me feel more complete. It puts me in a "safe" state of mind. Since I started training again in January I have been for the most part super motivated. There is only one problem. I have very little interest in anything else besides training and I suspect that might not be such a good thing. Recently, I fell into a slump and I began to feel like my entire mind and body have gone into hibernation. But not completely. I still have some sanity left to turn things around on my own but it is the feeling and the questions in my head that come with being in this slump that worries me, paticularly the realization that I have very little motivation to do anything that has nothing to do with swimming, biking or running.

It is as though I am suddenly hit with the realization that all along I have been running my machine in safe mode. Can someone tell me where the "restart" button is?

2005-07-18 5:22 PM
in reply to: #201564

User image

Master
South of SLC
Subject: RE: Coping with Depression
David,

What are you doing in Belize?

You know, you really should see someone about this. I am sure this is not the place for you to get "relevant" advice. You are going to get a lot of yeah, I am going through that too. I would seriously consider seeing a professional about helping you through this.

Mike
2005-07-18 5:38 PM
in reply to: #201568

User image

Veteran
Belize
Do you really think it could be that bad? Thanks for your advice.

I live in Belize, by the way.

Edited by David_Zen 2005-07-18 5:43 PM
2005-07-18 5:42 PM