General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Incorporating strength training into triathlon training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2011-11-11 8:02 PM

Subject: Incorporating strength training into triathlon training

Hi,

I am completely new to training for a triathlon. Today was my first actual day of training. I am curious how other people incorporate strength training into their triathlon training. Do you lift weights, do calistenics, or use bands and pulleys. Any other suggestions or info would be greatly appreciated

Thanks,

Beau

2011-11-11 8:19 PM
in reply to: #3899128

User image

Veteran
Subject: RE: Incorporating strength training into triathlon training

Personally I use free weights and some cable weights. I usually do my running and biking first then weights. But I do weights first then swim. Being a paramedic having functional strength is very important for me so when I got into triathlons it was not a big jump. I do lift four times a week, two of those times are with a good friend. It helps that she is a police officer and we are both competive so we can safetly push ourselves against eachother.

I do suggest starting out slow with low weight and low reps and go from there. Does the gym you go to have a personal trainer you can do an hour or so with? That would be a great way to see where you should start out at.

I do a lot of focus on the shoulders, upper and lower back, upper and lower arms, hips, and upper and lower legs. I used to also do an two one hour cardio class each week but have since dropped it due to time constranits.

Best of luck to you! Just getting started is half the battle.

2011-11-11 8:21 PM

User image

Expert
Scottsdale, AZ

I thought it was time for another one of these threads.

Welcome to BT.  Firstly, the red font is the sarcasm font