General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Diminishing returns while fatigued in the pool Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2012-01-10 6:23 PM

User image

Master
Burlington, Vermont
Subject: Diminishing returns while fatigued in the pool
Tonight's swim sets are listed in my log. Be gentle ... I'm a swim newbie ... but this workout really fatigued me. I was hanging with the other swimmers (Masters team) quite well through the set of 75s pull. I've got a terribly inefficient kick, so it's always nice when they don't get to use their legs and I don't have to work to keep mine up.

I finished behind them on the 100s, but still started on the 2:00. This is an improvement for me, as I've been starting my 100s on 2:10 or 2:15. Only 3 of them tonight ... but still, I'll take it.

Then he wrote 3 x 300 on 6:00 on the board and I just hung my head in defeat. So I decided to just take them at my pace on not concern myself with the clock ... I'd take a minute rest in between.

But I really fell off my form for the final 300. I just couldn't get it back together, so I grabbed a buoy for the final 200 just to finish the set. That's my question ... was that a good move or would I have been better served trying to struggle through and take the best form I could muster?

2012-01-10 6:49 PM
in reply to: #3982735

User image

Champion
Columbia, South Carolina
Subject: RE: Diminishing returns while fatigued in the pool

This could get ugly...  (Sometimes when this issue arises, there is some, um, passion.)

My personal experience is this, and I'm keeping it to my personal experience because I really don't know the answer to your question.  Let's take today.  My main set finished with 4x50 all-out (after a bunch of hard swimming prior to that).  I felt like crying on the last 50.  I'm not making that up.  I did try to focus on form, but I have little doubt that it had fallen apart pretty badly by the end.