Ironhead Race Productions
80F / 27C
Sunny
Total Time = 00m
Overall Rank = 135/481
Age Group = 30-34
Age Group Rank = 20/52
Pre-race routine:

Woke up at 4:30, put in contacts and shaved. Back and bike were loaded from the night before. Picked up Teri and we headed to now-familiar Joe Pool Lake. Breakfast was a yogurt and bag of shredded wheat.
Event warmup:

Ran the start of the course for 10 or so minutes. Then got in the water for a quick 100m or so warmup before the pre-race meeting.
Swim
  • 14m 53s
  • 800 meters
  • 01m 52s / 100 meters
Comments:

I did a much better job nagivating on this swim than some of my other recent races. It helped that Jack had put a lot of bouys out. I'm not very experienced in choppy conditions, and although I had my share of water as I was trying to breath, it didn't really affect me.

Lots of avoiding other swimmers, especially early on, which doesn't help my balance in the water. But I think I recovered pretty well. Overall, I'm pleased with my time.
What would you do differently?:

Just need some more open water practice for sighting and keeping my head down on breathing.
Transition 1
  • 01m 38s
Comments:

No problem with socks today, so it was an acceptable T1. I was faster running my bike out than some, and got a good jump onto once past the mount line. (didn't really slow down at all)

I need to try swimming with my HRM strap under my tri top again to see if I can get it to not slip down. I waste too much time dealing with this.
Bike
  • 48m 9s
  • 16.78 miles
  • 20.91 mile/hr
Comments:

Was having a pretty good ride. Managed to keep the pace up, even into the wind (except for that one tactical error where I sat up to check my rear tire as I was crossing the bridge - bonehead move.)