General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Need a pep talk on first open water swim please Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2012-09-27 12:17 PM

User image

Regular
Subject: Need a pep talk on first open water swim please
I am a beginner triathlete.  Completed my first sprint in September (pool swim).  I am now registered to compete in an 800m open water swim in a week.  It will be a wet suit swim.  I am super nervous since I've never done one before.  I've also trained solo, so no coaches to help calm my nerves. I was wondering if anyone had basic tips or confidence boosters for someone about to compete in their first OWS.  I know so much is mental and I am trying to get and keep my head in the game!  Any last minute pointers?  Thank you!

2012-09-27 12:18 PM
in reply to: #4430386

User image

Elite
Laguna Beach
Subject: RE: Need a pep talk on first open water swim please

Be sure to allow yourself some time to get to the race early and get a good warm-up so you are relatively calm and comfortable in the water before the start.

Remember people like Diana Nyad, the ultramarathon swimmer who has made four attempts to swim from Cuba to Florida. Nyad had to swim in the open ocean at night- all night. If a 60+ year old woman (admittedly an incredible athlete) can do that, you can do this.

Remember your training, remember no one is as prepared as they'd like to be, take a few deep breaths, start wide of the group and get a good warm up in the water and you'll be awesome. Have a great race! Report back here please Ma'am when you're done.

Edited by Tom Demerly. 2012-09-27 12:20 PM
2012-09-27 12:23 PM

User image

Veteran
Morgan Hill, California