General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Do I really need a wetsuit? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-07-27 8:17 AM

User image

The 951
Subject: Do I really need a wetsuit?
I am barely able to swim since I started learning last February and am still working on consistency and flow.
So far my tri plans are nothing but pool sprints with 150 and 200 m swims.

I don't think I'll ever graduate to Olys and up because of certain medical conditions I have that limit my running.

There is a local tri club that does lake OWS and super sprints a couple of times a year but are the short formats worth the $300+ investment for an Xterra or a DeSoto?

2013-07-27 9:15 AM
in reply to: BikesOfALesserGod

User image

Veteran
Illinois
Subject: RE: Do I really need a wetsuit?
Lots of companies rent wetsuits for ~$50 per race.

In my mind, it depends on the water. For a short course, in warm water, in a small lake, in California, a wetsuit is probably not a need. One thing you can do is skim the race reports from your races and see how they describe the swim.

For me, I have two olys - Rev 3 Wisconsin Dells, in Lake Delton, and the Chicago Triathlon, in Lake Michigan..

Lake Delton is bath-water warm right now, and wasn't pro-wetsuit-legal last year. For that race alone, I would probably have not bought a wetsuit. It's also a time-trial start, which helps.

Chicago, on the other hand, in Lake Michigan . . . 3-4' swells, plus the possibility of the water being pretty cold, plus the scrum of the mass start - those reasons contributed to my wetsuit purchase. We also have Ohio Beach, which is a 1/2 mile long swimming lane in shallow water, and almost always full of triathletes. I've been out there a few times, and that departure from the boredom of pool swimming is great. Open water is a very different animal.

I was able to buy a nice Blue Seventy Fusion for less than $300, and the xterra on the banner is around $200.