General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Montrealer going from couch to IronMan in 20 months Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-08 2:41 PM

User image

Subject: Montrealer going from couch to IronMan in 20 months
Hi all,

A little about me first :
- I'm 33 and 172cm (5'8")
- I used to run 1h 3x/wk and swim quite a bit as an adolescent. Never competitive though. That was 15 years ago.
- I have had a sedentary lifestyle for the last 15 years.
- I went from 63kgs (139lbs) to about 90kgs (198lbs) in the last 5 years, after 3 attempts at quitting smoking. The last one was successful over 2 years ago. I am now down to 84kgs (185lbs)
- I first decided to start training to get in shape and be healthier, but this didn't work for me as they are not goals concrete enough. So I decided I'll fix a crazy goal : Finishing an IronMan in March 2015, for my 35th birthday.

I started training 5 weeks ago:
- First three weeks : I was just getting in shape, mostly elliptical and a little weight lifting.
- Last week : I started a 0 to 10k program, running Tue-Thu-Sat. I plan to do the 10k run in Ottawa on Oct 5th.
- This week : I started a modified 0 to 1650 yards program, swimming Mon-Wed-Fri. I plan to finish my first 1500m on Sept 30th.
- Next week : I'll start a light weight lifting program, 6 days a week.

I have yet to prepare a training plan for Oct and after, hopefully culminating with a full triathlon for my 34th birthday, on March 2014. I might ask the guy who finished 33 IronMans in 33 days for a little help, as he doesn't live very far from me.

Thanks for taking the time to read, I am certain I will have a lot of questions for you guys!

Simo

Edited by simobk 2013-08-08 2:48 PM

2013-08-08 3:06 PM
in reply to: simobk

User image

Champion
Sarasota, FL
Subject: RE: Montrealer who wants to go from couch to IronMan in 20 months

Welcome.  You've set quite a goal for yourself.  Challenging, but doable if you put in the work.