General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Road shoes/pedals vs mtn bike shoes/pedals Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-22 11:12 AM

User image

Seneca, South Carolina
Subject: Road shoes/pedals vs mtn bike shoes/pedals
I've been using road shoes and pedals for about 6 months now, and I'm not loving it. I find them harder to clip in, harder to walk in and sometimes when I stop and put a foot down it feels like they are going to slide like ice skates. Not much fun running them through transition either.

Thinking about switching back to mtn bike shoes and spd pedals.

Thoughts?

2013-08-22 11:17 AM
in reply to: NCmtnborn76

User image

Expert
Greenville, SC
Subject: RE: Road shoes/pedals vs mtn bike shoes/pedals
the only issue i could see is that some road pedal cleats don't fit mountain bike shoes. so you might have to swap pedals/cleats too.
2013-08-22 12:05 PM

User image

Veteran
St Louis, Missouri
I hear you. I went from SPD to Look and found the same issues as you have.

But I also noticed that the road shoes with Look cleats gave me a better platform when grinding.

As for running through transition, ya they suck. Seeing as I cant do a flying mount. I wear the shoes to the bike out. ( unless it is a huge transition area like Chicago, then I'll run barefoot to the bike out. step to the side, and put the shoes on there) But on my way back in. I leave them on the bike and run barefoot into T2.

Also, if I am doing a ride that looks like I may have to dismount and walk up part of a hill. I'll put the SPD peddles back on the bike and wear the MTB shoes.

Hope that helps

2013-08-22 1:17 PM
in reply to: halfmarathondon

User image

Extreme Veteran
I used my mountain bike shoes on SPD road bike pedals last week in a triathlon and had no trouble.
2013-08-22 2:22 PM

User image

Master
Kailua, Hawaii