General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Effect of bike cleat position? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-01-19 3:31 AM

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: Effect of bike cleat position?
Okay, I admit I'm a bike idiot! But wondering.......

Ever since I started riding a road bike with bike shoes, and especially since training for longer races (above Oly length), I've had periodic issues with soreness and occasional numbness in the big toe and second toe on one foot during/after long rides. This seems to contribute to a weird cramp on the top of my foot and front of my shins that happens only when the long bike is followed by a long run (HIM or "international" 12K distance) at race intensity. Somehow it never occurred to me it might be related to pedal/cleat stuff. This has been going on for over two years...

This past fall I did little riding as was really focused on HM training. But somehow I aggravated the toe issue (my guess is some kind of neuroma or tendinitis) with ill-fitting running shoes. It still comes and goes but seems to be improving gradually now that I have proper running shoes again. But the bike shoes clearly aggravate it, although they seem to fit well and have plenty of room in the toe box. Today I had the bike shop guy switch the cleats on both shoes back to the other possible position (away from my toes). I think it might take the pressure off of what seems to be an unhappy nerve and/or tendon. But wondering what the effect of this is.....