General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Lactate Threshold vs VO2 max Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2014-08-13 10:09 AM

nashville, Tennessee
Subject: Lactate Threshold vs VO2 max
I've been reading a book by ben greenfield about training. Although I've been training for about 4 years I've actually never performed a LT field test. So yesterday I decided to do a LT run test. My result was 174 which has nothing to do with my question but I wanted to make sure that didn't sound abnormal. I know for biking it will be much lower. So in one chapter of the book he talks about determining your LT so you can determine you training zones. Well then in the next section he talks about training but uses %VO2 max, but never says "hey do this test to determine your VO2 max". Kinda frustrates me that he says to do LT test but then speaks in terms of VO2 max later. Do you need to know both to set up proper training? If so, how do you determine your VO2 max without actually doing blood tests in a lab?

2014-08-13 10:11 AM
in reply to: mchadcota2

User image

Extreme Veteran
Maryland
Subject: RE: Lactate Threshold vs VO2 max

I stopped reading as soon as you said Ben Greenfield.

He is a hack. Get a new source.

please don't buy his energy bracelets or mouth pieces.

2014-08-13 10:19 AM

User image

Pro

I think that Dave Ryan's description here- is pretty clear:

http://forum.slowtwitch.com/forum/Slowtwitch_Forums_C1/Triathlon_Forum_F1/Vo2_max_vs_lactate_threshold_P4158245/

Practically- VO2 Max is your maximum oxygen utilization rate, and usually sustainable for 3 to 6 minutes. 

LT is the level you can sustain for quite a bit longer. ~ an hour.

2014-08-13 10:24 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Veteran
Newcastle, England

VO2max is interesting to know as a measure of physical fitness. However LT is the more useful piece of knowledge for training.