General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim stroke rate Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 5

2014-12-09 7:00 AM

Subject: Swim stroke rate
I noticed my swim strike rate has dropped about 6 strokes per min, any drills I can do to get strike rate back and increase?

2014-12-09 7:04 AM
in reply to: DavidJG2

User image

Exton, PA
Subject: RE: Swim stroke rate
Originally posted by DavidJG2

I noticed my swim strike rate has dropped about 6 strokes per min, any drills I can do to get strike rate back and increase?

why do you count strokes or strokes/min? I have 35 years of competitive swimming experience and have no idea how many stroke/min I swim.
2014-12-09 7:42 AM

User image

Champion
Montague Gold Mines, Nova Scotia
What is your pace and strokes per 25m?

Shane
2014-12-09 8:38 AM
in reply to: mike761

User image

Richland, Washington
Originally posted by mike761

why do you count strokes or strokes/min? I have 35 years of competitive swimming experience and have no idea how many stroke/min I swim.

I second this.
2014-12-09 9:28 AM
in reply to: Swimaway

User image

Brooklyn, New York
I only just started paying closer attention to my stroke rate because as I try to improve technique and bi lateral breathing, I am wanting to breathe every 3 strokes consistently, but screwing up all sorts of rhythm because I believe my stroke rate is a little too slow (I realized I glide a bit too much, causing stroke rate to drop, but momentum as well) - Could be a factor - just throwing it out there
2014-12-09 11:02 AM

User image

Coach
Stairway to Seven

DPS and Stroke Rate are basic elements that well known & respected coaches have been paying attention to for decades. Props to the OP for awareness.