General Discussion Triathlon Talk » What would you pay for a cycle class at a Tri shop? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2015-01-07 6:13 PM

Scottsdale, AZ
Subject: What would you pay for a cycle class at a Tri shop?
Hello everyone!
I posted here before about this, but really trying to nail down specifics and get the ball rolling.
I'm starting a cycling class (where people bring their own bikes/trainers) at a local tri shop and trying to figure out all the details and wanted to know what else is out there like it or get any ideas.

The goal is to start with one class a week - 1 hour with some good stretch time after. Would be an interval based class, with anything ranging from tempo to VO2 max emphasis. Once I see what need there is, I can better plan the workouts, but for now just getting people in the door with their bikes to get a good 60 min workout with no traffic, good tunes and camaraderie.
I've been teaching cycle classes for 9 years but I'm not "that" spin instructor, that does crazy on the bike that has no training benefit. This class would be geared to cyclists, triathletes or anyone that wants an efficient way to get their bike training in for the day, on their own bike.

While I would love to offer free classes, it does take quite a bit of time, effort and cash(for music) for me to put these workouts together, so after an initial trial run, I would need to charge for the classes. I just don't know how much or what people would be willing to pay.
I was hoping to do a punch card type system so people can just pay upfront and not as you go (but that would be available as well on a drop in basis.

Have any of you taken classes like these, was there a charge/donation for them and if so, how much was it?