General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First Century in the Books and s$:& just got real Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2015-04-12 5:52 AM

User image

Katy, Texas
Subject: First Century in the Books and s$:& just got real
I'm happy to say that I completed my first 100-miler yesterday! That distance seemed like a myth to me 10 months ago when I started riding and 20 miles was a lot. Even with the heat and humidity and a nagging wind I managed to finish in under 5 hours....barely, like 4:59 and change. Although this should really help my confidence going into my first IM, I'm honestly a little deflated because that was freakin tough. Like really really hard and the reality of IM sort of set in. I'm kind of freaking out but trying not to over think it. I feel like, at five weeks out, that shouldn't have been as hard on me. The two mile run off the bike *felt* like a marathon and I can't get it out of my head that there *will* be a marathon...and a swim...and 12 more miles on the bike. So how do you cope with pre race freak outs?

2015-04-12 7:32 AM
in reply to: 3mar

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: First Century in the Books and s$:& just got real
Originally posted by 3mar