General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Transition time - how important is it? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2015-09-14 4:50 PM

User image

Denver, Colorado
Subject: Transition time - how important is it?
I am fairly new to triathlon and this is a question that occupies my mind once in a while.
The transition time is included in your total time, but how important is it? How much attention do you pay to it?Obviously, everyone wants to have the fastest transition time, but while swim/bike/run distances are usually the same - the transition distance (and area) may vary. In my local tri it was easy to go through transitions in less than a minute, but in Chicago Tri there was over 450 meters to run from swim to T1, and then another probably 300 to find a bike. So the time for that part could not be less than 5 minutes (in most cases).

I'm just wondering what are your thought about it. And if you only focus on your time for swim/run/bike legs.

Thanks!
Mary

2015-09-14 5:08 PM
in reply to: marysia83

User image

New user
Austin, Texas
Subject: RE: Transition time - how important is it?

Well you obviously can't compare one race to another because as you said the transition areas are different, but you could be comparing the same race from one year to the next to see if you've improved. Transition is basically free time. You could work all year to shave a minute off your 5k time in a sprint, only to lose that minute in transition if you're not efficient enough. 

2015-09-14 5:14 PM

User image

Sensei
Sin City

Time is time.  Wherever you can save it...  BUT, I think a lot of time is wasted in transition and you can move up a lot of places with little additional effort if you can streamline your transitions.