General Discussion Triathlon Talk » OWS locations near Chicago Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-15 6:39 PM

Subject: OWS locations near Chicago
I'm doing my first sprint tri in June, I have no OW swim experience as yet. Does anyone have any recommendations for inland lakes I can use until Lake Michigan warms up?
Thanks!

2016-05-16 3:32 PM
in reply to: Amyp

User image

Champion
Southern Chicago Suburbs, IL
Subject: RE: OWS locations near Chicago

Where do you live?  There are some up in Crystal lake you might be able to get some OWS in but other than that, I have no idea.

Also, how strong of a swimmer are you?

2016-05-16 7:49 PM
in reply to: crowny2

Thanks for your response. I'm in the city ( Lincoln Park) but can get to the suburbs if I have to. I'm a strong pool swimmer, I really need to get into the open water for some experience. At least for a clear state of mind. The sprint distances are not long and since the lakes are inland I assume I won't have to deal with high waves etc. But I would like to try a few swims where I am out of my depth, the water isn't clear and I have to keep going. I know race day will bring lots of other variables that I can't accommodate for in my training, just trying to deal with the ones I can. I hear Naperville has a quarry, I may try that- any experience over there anyone?
I feel like a good quarter of this experience is mental preparation!
2016-05-17 9:42 AM

User image

Champion
Southern Chicago Suburbs, IL