Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 19

2006-12-15 5:35 PM

User image

Science Nerd
Redwood City, California
Subject: Artemis's Group - FULL

Username: Artemis

My story: I was a competitive swimmer in high school and was pretty active until I went to college. Then I stopped working out so much. My dad encouraged me to start bike commuting to work, so I did that. I got the crazy idea two years ago that I could probably do a triathlon, so long as I learned how to run. I stumbled on the BT "Beginner Couch to Sprint" training plan and followed that. In the past two years, I've done four sprints, one olympic, and two half-marathons, which I never thought I'd be able to do. Next year, I'm planning on doing more olympics and my first marathon. Never thought this would ever be possible.

Family: I'm married with no kids. Maybe one day when I grow up

Personal: I'm a PhD student in Integrated Life Sciences (Bioinformatics concentration) at Virginia Commonwealth University. I've been working on juggling courses, TAing, research, married life, and training. It's always a struggle, but I'm doing my best to make it work. Outside of all that, I like to...sleep?

Weight: I've been struggling with my weight since college. I'd lost weight last year, but gained a ton of it back because of medication side effects and now I'm working on losing it again. I'm learning how to eat healthy and resist bad food, which I know I couldn't do without the things I've learned here

I would love to help people here as much as I've been helped. I've gotten so much information and I don't think I could have accomplished nearly as much without everyone here. Plus, I wouldn't have gotten to meet all the great people that I did in the past two years.

Edited by Artemis 2006-12-21 8:45 AM

2006-12-18 7:44 AM
in reply to: #625443

User image

Regular
Subject: RE: Artemis's Group - OPEN
Hello, Artemis (Jen), I would like to join your group.