Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 11

2006-12-15 5:40 PM

User image

Master
San Francisco
Subject: enginerd's Group - FULL
Name: enginerd (Donato)

Story: I'm in my late 30s, relatively newly married, no kids (I do have a Turkish Angora cat though). I am an engineer by degree and an IT manager by profession (hence enginerd).

Before this year, I hadn't owned a bike in 20 years and I hadn't done a lap in a pool in for just as long. I had been an avid hiker/backpacker and a casual runner in the past, but that had lapsed. Through the course of a long project at work, I had gained over 15% body weight. As I gained weight, I purchased a whole new set of "fat" suits. Once my first "fat" suit stopped fitting, I'd had enough. So, 18 months ago, I started changing my diet and this year I started actively training.

In this first season of triathlons, I completed 6 triathlons (4 sprints, 1 Oly and 1 Oly-ish distance). I got hooked after the first few and started signing up for longer events because the fun was over too quickly in a sprint. In this season, I also did my first 2 marathons, a handful of 10K/12K distance road and trail races, a swim/run race, and I biked my first century. Through training and racing (and eating more healthy), I managed to lose about 35 lbs. and I'm in better shape than I've ever been.

I'm interested in doing longer distance events than I've done before, so I'm primarily targeting half IM distance events in 2007 and a full IM distance either late in the year or the following.

Edited by enginerd 2006-12-18 2:22 PM

2006-12-15 7:10 PM
in reply to: #625451

User image

Extreme Veteran
Bay Area- California
Subject: RE: enginerd's Group - OPEN
Hi Donato,

Would like to join your group- we're both Bay Area folk! Gee's now for the bio...

Gina, 33, married, one kid (2yr old girl).