Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2006-12-15 5:45 PM

User image

Veteran
Michigan
Subject: TRIFOR40's Group - Full

Username: trifor40 -- Jenna

Story: I'm a newbie myself, just starting my second year of tri-ing. I'm 40 years old now, nnd had NO athletic training or even interest before the age of 36. I am married and have two kids- 6 and 8 years old. I work at home. but have monthly travel in winter and weekly travel in summer. I'm a former smoker and I put on lots of weight after my kids were born, and eventually decided to get more active to take off the weight. I started with the Body for Life program (weights and cardio, with a simple whole foods eating plan.) I gained muscle with the program, pretty easily since I had very little to begin with, and sort of caught the fitness bug.

My daughter is a Leukemia Survivor, so two years ago I decided to raise money for Leukemia Lymphoma Society through Team in Training. I trained for a half marathon but got injured a month before the race. (Still met my FR goal though!) I was pretty bummed because I couldn't run-- so my husband actually suggested triathlon because he thought the cross training might be better for my body than the repetition of running. (He's a die-hard hockey guy and has zero interest in tri for himself, but is very supportive of me.) My response went something like this: "But I don't know how to swim and I haven't been on a bike in 20 years!" He said "Uh, you could take a lesson, you know."

So I did. Stated training last January with swim lessons (inspired by my fish-like daughter!), got a bike in April or May, found a beginners plan here at BT, and finished (at the back of the pack) two sprint tris this summer. Training: I try to follow the excellent plans here at BT-- started with a Beginner Spint plan, and now am trying a very ambitious (for me) winter training plan.